the veils 'time stays, we go'

By Claudia Innes This April the Veils return with their highly anticipated fourth studio album ‘Time Stays, We Go’. Recorded at Seedy Underbelly Studios in Laurel Canyon, Los Angeles, and produced by lead singer Finn Andrews and Adam Greenspan, the album marks the beginning of a new era for the band. ‘Time Stays, We Go’ consists of ten songs culled from a batch of literally hundreds of songs written in the three years since The Veils 2009 album. Andrews wrote almost every day, so when the time came he sought the help of Adam Greenspan and Nick Launay (producer The Bad Seeds, Yeah Yeah Yeahs) to help him sort the good from the not so good. What resulted were ten songs that would showcase the true potential and range of Andrews’ voice. His recognisably haunting wail echoes the low baritone of Leonard Cohen in songs like ‘birds’, and becomes a twisted holler during ‘Dancing With The Tornado’. The album features collaborations with a number of musicians, helping to create a rich musical backdrop for Andrew’s lyrics. Songs like ‘Train With No Name’ are built around a rhythm track made of about 15 toms and 25 tambourines, creating a heavy, locomotive sound. ‘Time Stays, We Go’ shows The Veils at the height of their creative powers so far, deftly combining the two distinct sides of their personality that Andrews describes as “the pop and the snarl”. The Veils ‘Time Stays, We Go’ will be released in New Zealand on April 26, 2013.